Professional Development Award

Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Approved Centre

CodeClan Ltd is the first UK digital skills academy to become an SQA Approved Centre offering the Professional Development Award (PDA) in Software Development – a professional level qualification recognised and endorsed by employers across Scotland and accredited by the SQA – as part of its core course.

CodeClan was an instrumental driver in creating and developing this newest SQA qualification, and our Approved Centre status allows us to deliver the PDA to a broad range of students at different levels in their education

Watch our students and instructors discuss the PDA:

The Professional Development Award Qualification

This PDA has been designed as a Group Award to enable students to achieve internationally recognised credits as determined by the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) – the national framework that describes all relevant programmes of learning and qualifications in Scotland.

We offer the PDA at SCQF Level 8

The PDA matches our core course content in software development to national standards. We offer students on our 16-week immersive software development course the chance to gain this nationally recognised at qualification at SCQF Level 8, which is the equivalent level of an HND/ Diploma of Higher Education. 

To achieve the PDA Group Award, learners are required to pass the three Units at Level 8. These explore object-oriented programming, focus on key programming principles and practice, analysis and design techniques, planning, implementation and testing which are assessed in both cognitive reasoning tests and practical assignments.  Students earning the PDA at Level 8 gain Higher National Unit Credits which can be set against their continuing education goals.